Development and Organization

On March 28, 1967, the Trustees of The Youngstown University authorized the president and faculty of the University to begin developing graduate programs at the master’s degree level, start­ing in the fall of 1968. In May 1967, the Faculty Senate of The Youngstown University authorized the development of master’s degree programs in various academic departments of the University. At its first meeting on August 15, 1967, the Youngstown State University Board of Trustees estab­lished the office of the dean of the Graduate School and the general regulations governing the ap­pointment of a graduate faculty. It also identified and authorized the initial graduate degree pro­grams that were to be offered. These programs gained approval from the Ohio Department of Higher Education on December 15, 1967. Preliminary accreditation was given by the Higher Learning Commission in July 1968; continued accreditation was awarded in 1974, 1978, 1988, 1999, 2008 and 2018. The College of Graduate Studies is a member of the Council of Graduate Schools in the United States and the Midwestern Association of Graduate Schools.

The College of Graduate Studies is administered by a dean who serves as a member of the Graduate Council. The elected members of the Graduate Council consist of one representa­tive from each college’s graduate studies committee, one graduate student member, and one program director from each college. Standing committees of the Graduate Council are:

  • Admission and Appeals
  • Curriculum
  • Exceptions